Review

Review

I will be reviewing the PC game known as Iracing. It is a game on PC that you pay membership to play, that gives you an accurate depiction of what it feels like to drive a racecar, and many different types of them as well. They are known for their accurate sim racing and for being the premier sim racing game. This game requires 16 GB of RAM on your PC and a steering wheel compatible with your PC.

I have been playing this game for about 2 months. I have never actually driven the racecars in the game. I have bought several of the games additional tracks and cars, that don’t come with the game. I am not great at it, but I do hold my own against some of the best competition this game has to offer, as well as against some professional drivers I run into from time to time that play the game.

This review is due to many people questioning how good the game is, and people complaining about it. I want to write an actual review of the game, without everyone’s unrealistic expectations, and biases. I wanted to give context and reasoning as well with my review of the game.

Firstly let’s start with cost. I purchased a one year membership for $59.99, and have probably spent anywhere from $60-$100 on tracks and cars in the game. This games expenses aren’t purely with the actual game though, as you will need a steering wheel as well, and a baseline, bare minimum one costs about $50, and if you want a more immersive, better steering wheel it’ll run you anywhere from $100-$500 depending on it’s make and model, and many other things.

But it is very rewarding, if you like watching racing and/or playing racing games. It is very cool, and you can get hooked very easily into a 2+ hour session due to the shear realism of the game. But don’t just take the realism aspect from me, as I’ve seen many professional driver’s streaming the game on Twitch, Youtube, or other streaming platforms and they’ve never once complained about realism, and have actually added to the games credibility. 


At some of the races I go to where I meet the professional drivers who partake in Iracing, and also have driven the cars in real life, I ask for some input on their side, the people who drive the cars professionally, on how well the car drives in-game compared to in real life. They’ve all said that it is as close to being in the car as you can get, without actually taking the risk of racing in real life. This gives me a lot of confidence in the realism aspect of the game.

I personally, really enjoy the game and it’s features. I go to a lot of race tracks to watch racing in the northeast, and plenty of those tracks that I visited are featured in the game, which to me is super cool. Before I head to watch racing at those tracks, I will run some laps around it on Iracing to get a feel for what challenges the drivers will be facing, what the track feels like in that specific car, and overall just a better understanding of what’s going on. I really enjoy the game in that aspect.

However, this game isn’t for everyone, as not as many people appreciate racing as much as others, so it is sort of a niche game, yet a fun one if you really are into it and enjoy motorsports. So if you do enjoy any form of motorsports, this is the game for you!

One response to “Review”

  1. A smart and detailed review, Pat…well done. I like how you professional broke this down and hit the most important video game criteria.
    30/30

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started